Wednesday, February 29, 2012

2 New Death Grips Albums On the Way, Hear 2 New Songs Now

One of my favorite releases of 2011 was Death Grips fantastic and refreshing mixtape/LP Exmilitary. It was aggressively raw and unlike any other thing out there, especially in the field of hip hop. And hot off the heels of such a stellar debut, Death Grips are gearing up to release not one but two new albums this year starting with The Money Store on April 24th. The group has also signed with Epic Records (I know, right? Didn't see that coming, but awesome), who will handle the release of the new albums. Hear two new songs from The Money Store below.

Exmilitary featured a lot of sampling (e.g. Black Flag, garage rock, Beastie Boys), but this new material is more centered around penetrating synthesizer. Both "Get Got" and "Blackjack" fall just under the three-minute mark, but it'd be hard to maintain this kind of punch and momentum any longer than that. It gives you just enough of a jolt to keep to attentive to where the music is going to head next. And with Death Grips, keeping up is half the fun.

The Sacramento-based Death Grips began in 2010 and consists of vocalist Stefan Burnett and production team Zach Hill & Andy Morin.

The Money Store will be available on vinyl exclusively on April 21st as part of Record Store Day. The second album, No Love, is set for release this fall.

Death Grips
Official Site

No comments: