Monday, March 07, 2011

LISTEN: Robin Pecknold (Fleet Foxes) Shares 3-Song EP for Free Download

When you have a day off, it never hurts to sit at your computer with your Twitter newsfeed open, checking it every so often. That sounds pretty depressing, Quinn. Do you get out much? I'll have you know that I do, and that it is not a bad thing to do because you find out about things like Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold sharing three songs for free download.

That's right. While we all wait for the release of the new Fleet Foxes album, Robin Pecknold is offering up three songs for free download -- er, an EP. Pecknold jumped on Twitter just moments ago to share three songs he recently recorded in LA with "his friend Noah." Here's a quote from Pecknold stitched together with tweets (I'm a professional): "So, I recorded three acoustic songs a couple weeks ago in LA. One is a duet with my friend Ed Droste from the amazing band Grizzly Bear, one is just a new solo jam, and one is a cover. These aren't Fleet Foxes songs, but I didn't know where else to disseminate it." The cover is Pecknold's take on New Zealand folk artist Chris Thompson's "Where Is My Wild Rose". All the tracks feature only fingerpicked acoustic guitar and vocals -- just genuinely captivating music. Listen to the true beauty after the hop.

If you ever wondered what the perfect soundtrack for a sunset drive through the countryside might be, this is it. If you ever wondered what the soundtrack is on the way up to heaven, it might just be this, too.

DOWNLOAD: Robin Pecknold - Three Songs

Fleet Foxes new album, Helplessness Blues, is out May 3 on Sub Pop.

No comments: